George Russell takes dominant win for Williams in Virtual Azerbaijan GP, delivered by Gfinity

The streets of Baku have produced some sensational Formula 1 races over the years, and it delivered an entertaining show once again in the Virtual Azerbaijan Grand Prix, delivered by Gfinity.

With chaos and collisions always likely around the fast and narrow streets, a good qualifying performance would be critical to success.

It was George Russell who took pole, with a lap that was just seven tenths slower than David Tonizza’s pole position time in the F1 Esports Pro Exhibition Race earlier in the day.

The Williams driver was in imperious form as he commanded the race from the front and sprinted away from Red Bull’s Alex Albon.

Further down the field there were lap one issues. Charles Leclerc and the debuting Pierre Gasly tangled into turn two, causing several drivers to lose positions. Leclerc’s teammate Enzo Fittipaldi caused a pile-up into the narrow castle section, ending the hopes of a strong race for the FDA Hublot Esports Team before the race really got going.

With a detached midfield and the blistering pace set by Russell, it was a matter of maintaining concentration for many in the higher positions and consolidating their spot.

Albon claimed yet another podium position, with Esteban Gutierrez finishing third in the Mercedes, followed by Lando Norris in the McLaren.

Norris’ teammate, the debuting YouTuber Ben Daly aka Tiametmarduk, was a surprisingly low eighth after being slowed by both first-lap incidents. Gasly and Sergio Perez, who was also debuting, ended up finishing outside the points.

Final Standings

Position Driver Team
1 George Russell Williams Racing
2 Alex Albon Red Bull Racing
3 Esteban Gutierrez Mercedes-AMG Petronas
4 Lando Norris McLaren Racing
5 Oscar Piastri Renault
6 Pietro Fittipaldi Haas F1 Team
7 Nicholas Latifi Williams Racing
8 Ben Daly (Tiametmarduk) McLaren Racing
9 Anthony Davidson Mercedes-AMG Petronas
10 Jimmy Broadbent BWT Racing Point
11 Thibaut Courtois Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN
12 Pierre Gasly Scuderia AlphaTauri
13 Enzo Fittipaldi FDA Hublot Esports Team
14 Charles Leclerc FDA Hublot Esports Team
15 Sergio Perez BWT Racing Point
16 Gianluigi Donnarumma Scuderia AlphaTauri
17 (DNF) Louis Deletraz Haas F1 Team
18 Aymeric Laporte Renault
19 (DNS) Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN
20 (DNS) Mattias Walkner Red Bull Racing

Next Race

The next Virtual GP will take place around the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal, Canada.

It will start at 6pm BST on Sunday, 14 June and be streamed live across the official Formula 1 channels on YouTube, Facebook, and Twitch.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit